Argania spinosa - the Argan Tree

The argan or argan tree is a tree of primeval times which exists already since 25 million years. It specified itself in desert-like regions, but is found nowadays only on a particular area of approximately 800 square kilometre in the southwest of Morocco which is protected as a biosphere reservation of the UNESCO.

Argan Tree  argania spinosa Arganie

40 up to 250 trees grow on one hectare. By the search for water the roots grow into a depth of 30 meters. With extreme dryness they throw their leaves off and so are able to survive for some years. By this the trees supply a natural protection against the penetration of the desert and against ground erosion by wind and strong rain.

The tree with a hight up to 10 m and a treetop diameter of about 14 m protects itself by its strong thorns against animal grub.

The yellow, plum-large fruits contain seeds which are used for the production of the valuable argan oil. To mature the fruits need longer than one year. If there fall sufficient rain, several generations of fruits and leaves are on one tree.

Argania spinosa - Der Argan Baum

Argan oder Arganbaum ist ein Urzeitbaum, den es bereits seit 25 Millionen Jahren gibt. Er hat sich auf wüstenähnliche Regionen spezialisiert, kommt aber heute nur noch auf einem ca. 800 Quadratkilometer großen Gebiet im Südwesten von Marokko vor, das als Bio-Reservat von der UNESCO geschützt ist.

Arganbaum Argan Baum argania spinosa Arganie

40 bis 250 Bäume wachsen auf einem Hektar. Die Wurzeln wachsen auf der Suche nach Wasser bis in 30 Meter Tiefe. Bei extremer Trockenheit werfen sie ihre Blätter ab und können so einige Jahre überleben. Die Bäume bilden so einen natürlichen Schutz gegen das Vordringen der Wüste und die Bodenerosion durch Wind und starken Regen.

Der bis zu 10 m hohe Baum mit einem Kronendurchmesser von bis zu 14 m schützt sich gegen Tierfraß durch kräftige Dornen.

Die gelben, pflaumengroßen Früchte enthalten Samen, die zur Herstellung des wertvollen Arganöl verwendet werden. Die Früchte benötigen zur Reifung länger als ein Jahr. Wenn genügend Regen fällt, finden sich an einem Baum mehrere Generationen von Früchten und Blättern.